David Ball PT

Storm Fitness PT

Clean Eating

Could be a bit of contentious subject but a term I’m pretty sick of is “clean eating”, it’s a term I have used a lot in the past and to my shame still use it as a way to explain a certain way of eating. So why do I not like it? Well it’s because it makes no sense.

My first issue is the confusion of what the term actually means. Most people seem to use the term “clean eating” as a way of explaining that the current “diet” they’re following doesn’t involve any processed foods. “Oh I’m not following a diet, I’m just eating clean”. But then some people seem to use it as a way of describing a low carb diet, because as we all know carbs are “dirty”. But then some cafes restaurants now describe their ethos/dishes as “clean” “wholesome”, and then serve sweet potato and oats which are carbs, but they aren’t processed so they’re good? I’m confused. Does it need to be gluten free, dairy free? Now my brain hurts.

My second issue comes from the idea that “clean” eating will automatically help them lose weight. Every food has calories, whether it’s “clean” or “dirty” and your body has to deal with those calories. Of course the way your body deals with calories depends on what they come from, protein, carbs or fats. But to suggest a food is “clean” just because you picked it fresh from the tree, dug it out the ground or just because it’s not a carb is wrong. Mackerel is an incredibly nutritious food, packed with protein, loads of omega 3 fats which means it’s packed full of calories. The same goes for the constant posts for recipes that are made from purely “clean” ingredients. I found a website talking about clean food with a recipe for a desert that was gluten free, dairy free, soy free it also contains about 600 calories per slice.  This recipe looks amazing and probably tastes amazing, but “clean” really. Nah I’m not buying that. (http://cleaneatingwithadirtymind.com/2013/06/03/paleo-reeses-cheesecake-with-fauxreo-crust-is-a-must/ approx 6070 calories total based on those ingredients)

Don’t get me wrong I’m not suggesting that you can eat whatever you want and as long as it’s low calorie it’s ok. That‘s really not what I’m trying to say. I’m not trying to encourage people to eat pop tarts (only pre workout) and Mcdonalds for every meal as long as you know how many calories it is. I understand that it’s important to eat nutritious food, to get the natural enzymes that help to break down foods, get your fibre, micronutrients and antioxidants, these things are missing from “non-clean” food. But to suggest that eating clean without watching how much you’re eating is wrong, you could be starving yourself, you could be massively over eating, neither is good. I eat tonnes of veg, lots of protein and fats and keep most of my carbs from sources such as sweet potato, oats, rice. But I also have a goal of how much protein, carbs and fats I can eat and where I can, within those numbers, I enjoy a treat. As someone who trains hard most days of the week I like to think I don’t need to worry about that.

If you would be interested in any nutrition or training advice then contact me on bally26@msn.com, 07919353614, or follow me on twitter @ballavont or Instagram DAVIDBALLPT.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 28, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
