David Ball PT

Storm Fitness PT

Charles Poliquin Seminar

PhotoGrid_1446498096722

Last week I took a two day seminar in Manchester with strength coach Charles Poliquin. Charles is recognised as one of the most successful strength coaches in the world and certainly the most well known amongst personal trainers.

I’ve known of Charles’s methods for pretty much all of my personal training career, I first heard of him through a friend of mine who is also a personal trainer and began to read a lot of his work. I’d always wanted to see him speak in person and last week I got that chance.

I had a very early start, getting a train at 6:03am to be there in time for a 9:30am start. I was a little worried about being tired after a late night working then the early start so grabbed a coffee. After leaving the coffee in the reception area, the seminar began. The first day was mainly about fat loss and I didn’t need to worry about feeling tired I barely stopped taking notes the whole time, loads of info that will be great to pass on to clients. Here’s just 5 of the tips I learnt from the first day.

  1. Aim to have a gram of Omega 3 fish oil for every 1% of body fat that you have.
  2. Intermittent fasting is for idiots and is even worse for females.
  3. A breakfast of red meat and nuts is the perfect way to start the day.
  4. Keep intervals over 45secs for fat loss. But it must be quality work. Poliquin quote “I don’t believe in a lot of work, but I do believe in hard work”.
  5. A low fat, low carb diet is suicidal. If one goes up the other must come down.

After a good nights sleep it was time for day 2 which was all about those gainz and getting jacked, in other words gaining muscle. Again I took a tonne of notes and here’s 5 more nuggets of info.

  1. There are certain rules about what results you can expect from certain rep ranges, but not everyone is the same, so what works for someone else might not work for you.
  2. The tempo of the lift is vital, the amount of time you keep the muscle under tension is what determines the training outcome.
  3. Becoming bigger doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll be getting stronger.
  4. There are 42 different muscle fibre types, not 3.
  5. Slower twitch muscle fibres usually respond better to lower reps then higher twitch muscle fibres.

Loads of great knowledge to use with clients and myself. Great to get an education from an experienced guy and someone who teaches and advises in a very different way to myself.

Leave a Reply

